Clarification 3-2025

Clarification in Law by the Designated Members of the Rugby Committee

Clarification 3-2025
Union / HP Ref Manager FFR (Fédération Française de Rugby)
Law Reference 10 & 18
Date 28 July 2025

Request

On behalf of the Fédération Française de Rugby (FFR), we would like to formally request a law clarification regarding the offside status of players when the ball goes into touch and the opposing team has a potential opportunity for a quick throw-in.

For the sake of the game and its fluidity, we believe it would be beneficial if players who are offside at the time the ball goes into touch are still considered offside when a quick throw-in is possible for the opposition.   

However, various responses received so far have not clearly supported this interpretation, which is why we are seeking an official written clarification from World Rugby.
 
Clarification Request:
We present two situations in the attached video, with three specific questions: 
1)    First clip – Offside players ahead of the kicker, more than 10 metres away from the receiver, when the ball goes into touch and a quick throw-in is possible for the opposing team. At what point is the offside player put back onside if they retreat?
2)    Second clip – Offside players ahead of the kicker, less than 10 metres from the receiver, when the ball goes into touch and a quick throw-in is possible for the opposing team. At what point is the offside player put back onside if they retreat?
3)    Finally, we kindly request the exact definition of a retreating action. 

 

 

Relevant laws

Clarification of the designated members of the Rugby Committee

Response

The ball is dead when the ball is in touch or touch in-goal (Law 6.9) or when play reaches a touchline (Law 18 principle)
Law 10 establishes that the game is played only by players who are onside. Before the ball is dead, Law 10.4 a, b and c make clear that an offside player in front of a kicker must retreat, not interfere with play; not move towards the ball; and in the event of being less than 10m from the ball alighting, must “retire immediately” (the 10m law). 

Therefore, any player in front of a kicker must be actively retiring towards their own dead ball line while the ball is in play.

When the ball is deemed to be in touch (when the AR raises their flag, or the referee blows the whistle) then the ball is dead and open play has ended. 

There is no current law which determines that a player can be offside when the ball is dead.  


Answers to your questions:

Q1& 2) The offside players circled are back onside when the ball is deemed to be in touch and so the ball is dead. They were both complying with respective elements of law 10 when the ball was kicked and before it becomes dead. 

For the offside player nearer than 10m of the landing point, 10.4c specifies they need to “retire immediately” which brings an element of speed into the action. In the clip the player was complying. 

Q3) A player is retreating when they are moving backwards towards their own dead ball line. They need to be mindful not to move towards the ball, even if they are moving in the right direction. 

 

The throwing-in team have a choice to make when the ball is in touch – they can restart play with a lineout or can attempt a quick throw. They need to make those tactical decisions using all information they have in front of them which includes the location of opponents.