Search
166 results returned for player grounded
Clarification 5-2009
5. The match officials refuse to allow the player to rejoin the match, which conclude ... e of Law 3.12 was to allow a player who has been substituted to return to the front row (in the event of an injury requiring a replacement front row player) to enable the game to continu ... d all its permitted replacements and substitutes and therefore the injured front row player shoul
Clarification 2-2012
n for the following:Law 3.11(b) A player who leaves a match because of injury or any other reason must not rejoin the match until the referee permits the player to return. The referee must not let a player retur ... d. Advantage cannot be played after the ball has been made dead.1. Team A have a player waitin ... h. Team B wish to take a quick lineout. Does the referee allow the quick lineout or allow the playe
Clarification 5-2002
e. In practice, this player moves into the lineout, and becomes an active lineout player, often bein ... t with Exception 1 which states that "… a player of the same team may run forward to take the ball.If s ... w. Otherwise, given that the immediate opponent of the player throwing-in the ball is allowed to suppor ... g of the designated members of the Rugby Committee A player (receiver) of the team throwing in the bal
Clarification 4-2011
U the correspondence is reproduced below.“Law 12, Definitions state: “A knock-on occurs when a player loses possession of the ball and it goes forward, or when a player hits the ball forward with the hand or ar ... r player before the original player can catch it.”The Law does not explicitly cover scenarios wher ... s the ball out of A’s hands such that neither player has possession of the ball and the ball travel
Clarification 7-2015
g practice of an opponent kicking the ball out of the hands of a player who has picked up the ball.This is happening mainly when the ball is won at the breakdown/tackle/ruck and has been picked up by a playe ... n and consistency for the referee:If contact is made with the hands of the player it can be considered fou ... k-on, whereas the player in possession has neither lost possession of the ball, nor has he knocke
Clarification 9-2004
2. The first paragraph states: Intentionally Offending. A player must not intentionally infringe any Law of the Game, or play unfairly. The player who intentionally offends must be either admonishe ... f. After a caution a player is temporarily suspended from the match for a period of ten minutes playing time. After a caution, if the player commits the same or similar offence, the player must be sen
Clarification 3-2003
s team mates and they move off the line of touch towards their opponents' goal-line. One player of tea ... 7 as soon as the player from Team B grasps the player from Team A and he then collapses the maul?(2) Is the player from Team B tackling the ball-carrier under Law 15 and play should therefore continu ... d scenario, a maul has formed. Therefore given this scenario, if the player from Team B collapse
Clarification 14-2003
t The UAR has requested a ruling with regard the Line-out, in Law 19. If a player with one or both fee ... e If a player with one or both feet inside the 22 metre line, picks up the ball which was stationary outside the 22 metre line, and kicks it directly into touch, then the player has taken the ball bac ... d. If a player with one or both feet inside the 22 metre line, picks up the ball which was in motio
Clarification 8-2003
e. If a player from Team B grasps an opponent and thus forms a maul, which he then collapses, he is liable to penalty. (2) However, if the player from Team B instantaneously brings the ball carrie ... g tackleable. • Player of Team A, in open play, running towards Team B's goal line is joined by a team mate( ... t, that the ball and players had moved off the line of touch. In this scenario, if the player from Team
Clarification 2-2022
n be dived on to claim control of the ball. Law 15 describes how a ruck ends, and says a player cannot fall onto the ball, but we seek clarity on when a player is legally entitled to dive onto the bal ... n it is in motion away from the ruck, or when the ball is sitting just beyond the hindmost player. This becomes relevant when determining if a player can fall onto the ball so that player can compl
Clarification 1-2005
y. In 16.3(f) it states that 'a player rucking for the ball must not ruck players on the ground'. It also states that 'a player must not intentionally step on players who are on the ground, and that 'a player rucking must do so near the ball'. Is this then taken to mean that there are no exceptions or qualifications to the Law, and that rucking which is directed at a player to remove hi
Clarification 2-2005
h Officials Law 6 A.12 stipulates for “a ball in the in-goal touched by a non player”. In such situatio ... y or a touch in goal where the ball would have been grounded. However, nothing is stipulated in the event of a person who is not a player touching the ball, intentionally or not, in the field of play or hinders the ball carrier or any other player who is in the position to intervene in the play. Woul
Clarification 7-2006
t of the group of team A players and not preventing any player from team B tackling the ball carrier?Is this deemed to be a “flying wedge” if the ball is transferred to a player in the middle of the group of team A players and preventing any player from team B from tackling the ball carrier?Is this deemed to be a “flying wedge” if the ball is transferred to a player on the edge or at the bac
Clarification 1-2014
s, “a knock-on occurs when a player loses possession of the ball and it goes forward, or when a player hit ... d, and the ball touches the ground or another player before the original player can catch it.” The law doe ... l was that of the defender before it went forward. Is this a knock on by player red or a pla ... k-on. Clarification of the designated members of the Rugby Committee If a player in tacklin
Clarification 2-2015
n of a team throwing a player forward after he has been supported in the air to receive a kick of ... s replicated the tactic: ExampleLaw 19 .10 (g) refers to the lowering of a player in a lineout after the ball has been won: "Players who support a jumping team-mate must lower that player to the ground as soon as the ball has been won by a player of either team." There is no law referenc
Clarification 12-2003
p at loose-head. The player now playing at tight-head prop (the starting-loose head prop) is injure ... d). However, if the player who came on to play loose-head prop was the next player injure
3 Team
t is shown a yellow card, the replaced player is not permitted to return to the field of play until after the period of suspension, except to comply with Law 3.19 or 3.20, and only if the player ha ... y. Replaced by: 3.31 If the temporary replacement is shown a yellow card, the replaced player is not permitted to return to the field of play until after the period of suspension, and only if the playe
Clarification 9-2006
n an opponent tackle the ball carrier? b. Does the ball carrier have to be the lead player? 2. During a maul. The defending team's players leave the maul, with the exception of only one player who remains bound. a. Can this player tackle the ball carrier? 3. During a lineou ... l carrier? c. Does the ball carrier have to be the lead player? Ruling of the designated member
Clarification 6-2015
4 players, which player leaves the field.a) Is it the original player that replaced No.18 for uncontested scrums, orb) Can the captain / coach elect any player to leave the field of play to reduce hi ... d Members of the Rugby Committee have considered the request and it is the original player who replace
9 Foul play
GAME-ON13 [Replacement] 9.13 A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders. Replaced by: 9.13 A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling include
Clarification 3-2022
s: Law 9.17 states “a player must not tackle, charge, pull, push or grasp an opponent whose fee ... s including leading with elbow or forearm”. Law 9.7 states “ a player must not intentionally infringe any law of the game” Q.1 When a player hurdles/jumps over a tackler who is attempting to make a low lega ... r contravention of law 9.11, and runs contrary to the game-wide focus on player welfare. In this specific cas
Clarification 6-2003
d that the player is liable to penalty for collapsing the maul. I would ask you to refer the definition of La ... s when a player carrying the ball is held by one or more opponents and one or more of the ball carrier ... l they are treated as one player and are not liable to penalty. In our opinion, if we treat the ball carrier and his team mates as one player, this would allow the ball carrier to be brought to groun
Clarification 6-2009
n “…the team cannot field a complete team, or a player sent off for Foul Play, or a player leaves the field because of injury.” Does this Law Variation also apply if a player is cautioned and temporaril ... e team because it is short one or more forward player, but that team is able to provide for ... t player scrums per team? Ruling of the designated members of the Rugby Committee The complete tea
Clarification 4-2014
d clarification on two items of Law in the context of both the Sevens and Fifteens game:Tackled playe ... s of the tackled player shifting body position before release, Law 15.5 (a) and 15.5 (e) should be considered:(a) A tackled player must not lie on, over, or near the ball to prevent opponents from gainin ... e) If opposition players who are on their feet attempt to play the ball, the tackled player must releas
Clarification 4-2002
e Referee Beginner Course, that of player safety. Law 6. 9 (g) "The referee must blow the whistl ... t row player is lifted into the air or is forced upwards out of a scrum, or when it is probable that a player has been seriously injured". Law 10. 5. Sanction clearly states "Any player who infringe ... s minimum action in this case is to speak to the offending player in the scrum and warn hi
Clarification 1-2018
m due to a player being suspended (either temporarily or permanently) then the team will be reduce ... g: Is the Law Application Guideline supported by Law? Law 3.6(d) states that a player, whose departur ... n in Law for a further player to have to leave the field if the departure is due to a suspension. Is the following correct? If a front row player is suspended and uncontested scrums are ordere
Clarification 3-2011
m the player charging down to be considered a charge down (stating that charge down “is not a knoc ... d (not supported in Law) this Law seems difficult to apply. If a ball ricochets off a player charging down an travels, for example, either in a perpendicular direction to the player charging down, or bobbles into the air and lands merely 2 metres behind the player charging down, the 10m Law would presumabl
Clarification 8-2014
g touched or been touched by a player in the process. A defending player picks up the ball withi ... e on or behind the 22-metre line. A drop-out is used to restart play after an attacking player has put or taken the ball into the in-goal, without infringement, and a defending player has made the ball dea ... t having touched or been touched by a player, the opposing team has three choices:to ground the bal
19 Scrum
n: Penalty. 6 deleted 7c deleted 7d deleted 23 [Replacement] 19.23 A front-row player mus ... k. Replaced by: 19.23 A front-row player must not intentionally kick the ball out of the tunnel or ou ... n the ball reaches the feet of the hindmost player and it is picked up by that player or is playe ... w player. d. When the referee blows the whistle for an infringement. e. When the ball in a scru
Clarification 2-2009
d and there is doubt as to who grounded it first. In this scenario, there is no opposition playe ... d it on the basis that a player touching a touch line is out of play and it should be the same in in-goal.Law 2 ... l line or dead ball line. Scenario: A player carrying the ball attempts to score a try. In the proces ... 1. Is a try scored? 2. Is the player in touch-in-goal? 3. Is an attacking scrum 5m from the goal lin
19 Scrum
y direction except the tunnel. b. When the ball reaches the feet of the hindmost player and it is picked up by that player or is played by that team’s scrum-half. c. When the number eight picks up the ball from the feet of a second-row player. d. When the referee blows the whistl
Clarification 2-2006
Ruling in Law by the Designated Members of the Rugby CommitteeClarification2-2006Union / HP Ref ManagerFFRLaw Reference19,21Date2006-01-10Request Law 19.1 (e) stipulates: “Penalty kick. When a playe ... s a penalty kick, and the ball is kicked into touch, the throw in is taken by the player of the team wh ... l hits the goal post and goes into touch without having been touched by another player. What decisio
Clarification 8-2006
t of him? 3. Can the referee allow a player coming from his side to hit the arm of the opponen ... n the referee allow a player coming from his side to hit the arm of the opponent as this opponent ha ... d). 2. No. See Laws 16.2(d) and 16.3(d). 3. No. See Laws 16.2(d) and 16.3(d). 4. Yes. If the playe
Clarification 2-2007
n a previously sin-binned White player return; given that the 10 minutes have fully elapsed? (If so, we assume that the returning player may take the penalty kick.) Ruling of the designated members of the Rugby Committee A substitution can only be made when the ball is dead. A referee must not let a playe
Clarification 4-2003
n that a replacement player must be able to play in the position in a manner that ensures that the match can continue safely with fully contested scrums? Or is the IRB requiring that a replacement playe ... h of Law 3.5(d) if they did not have another player, either on the field or the bench, who was abl ... e to injury, would this team be in breach of Law 3.5(d) if they did not have another player, eithe
Clarification 3-2012
Clarification in Law by the Designated Members of the Rugby CommitteeClarification3-2012Union / HP Ref ManagerIRFULaw Reference3Date2012-11-15Request The IRFU seeks urgent clarification on Law 3.14(d):With the introduction of 23 player squads, is it the intention that Law 3.14(d) is applicable? W ... w replacement for any reason, the team concerned shall not be entitled to replace the player whos
Clarification 1-2023
d Sevens Series fixture in Hong Kong an attacking player carrying the ball into in-goal, place ... s: 6.12 If the ball is touched by the referee or other non-playe ... n at the place where the contact took place. 21.1a The ball can be grounded in in-goal: By holding it and touching the ground with it. 21.3 An attacking playe
Clarification 2-2004
4 players among those who start the match if the list includes 16, 17 or 18 players.2. A player is outsid ... e drops the ball but not forward within his 22. The ball is then picked up by the same player who kick ... n. Replacements must also satisfy Law 3.5 (c) and (d).2. In this scenario the player has played the ball outside his 22 metre line and it has then gone into his 22 metre area. This player is considere
Clarification 10-2004
9-Touch & line-out and Law 21 Penalty and Free Kicks (1) A player of the attacking team kicks the bal ... t infield. He gathers it and kicks direct to touch. What is the correct decision? (2) A playe ... d. If the action as described was taken by a player after his team had been awarded a penalty kick or free kic ... n in this case be taken to include the knee as this is also in the definition above. Thus, the playe
Clarification 5-2005
g of a player who is in the air, either in the line out or in open play. The Law is designed to protec ... s anomaly, therefore, that a player(s) can deliberately lift an opponent off his feet and then ma ... l play should it occur in general play; e.g. a player, on the fringes of ruck or maul, so lifted. Rulin ... t in a tackle AND dropping or 'spearing' that player so that his head and/or upper body come