Clarification 1-2025

Clarification in Law by the Designated Members of the Rugby Committee

Clarification 1-2025
Union / HP Ref Manager HP Referee Manager
Law Reference 15
Date 23 June 2025

Request

At a ruck/breakdown close to the goal line, the attacking scrum half picks up the ball and dives forward over the ruck in an attempt to score a try.  Is this legal or should it be sanctioned?

Clarification of the designated members of the Rugby Committee

Response

These are potentially dangerous actions, so a player who attempts this and makes any contact with players already on the ground can be sanctioned under either of the following laws depending on where they are in relation to the try-line:

  • Law 15.16b:  A player must not jump on top of a ruck;  or
  • Law 9.11 which covers actions which are reckless or dangerous to others.

We are mindful that previous clarification rulings, based on equity, have said players should be able to dive with the ball in the act of scoring, and so can be tackled providing it can be done safely (see Clarification 2022-3). In these specific ruck situations, it would be difficult to either dive safely, or then be tackled safely. 

Examples which would be liable to sanction against the ball carrier: 

 

The Shape of The Game process will consider a specific law change on this aspect of the game.